Some new California gun laws to expect in 2017 include:
- A ban on the sale / transfer of common, center-fire, semiautomatic rifles with detachable magazines.
- A new definition of "detachable magazine", to specifically prohibit the "bullet button".
- A ban on the possession of any magazine that is capable of holding more than 10 rounds.
- The nation's first background check to purchase ammunition.
- A ban on importation of ammo from out-of-state.
- A new requirement that homemade lower receivers ("ghost guns") be serialized and registered with the state.
As of January 1, 2018, Ammunition buyers will be required to purchase a 4-year permit for $50.00 and undergo a background check. All ammunition sales will be electronically reported to the Department of Justice, and residents will be prohibited from bringing ammunition into California from out-of-state.
If you finish your own 80% receiver in your garage, you must register your "ghost gun" with the Department of Justice and have the part serialized. Starting January 1, 2017, unfinished receivers will be regulated just like real firearms.
If you or a loved one has questions about gun laws in California, call us for a free attorney consultation. (714) 449-3335. Ask for John.
Thanks for reading.
Orange County Gun Lawyer